Commission Announces New Members Officers

Article by: AUTHOR

The Spartanburg County Commission for Technical and Community Education recently welcomed a new member and elected officers to the governing body of Spartanburg Community College. Kenny Blackwood, superintendent of Spartanburg County School District Three was appointed to serve by South Carolina Gov. Henry McMaster; and newly elected officers include Chair- Eugene S. "Sonny" Anderson, Jr.; Vice Chair- Tracy W. Keller; and Secretary- Tracey G. Hill.

The commission includes 13 voting commissioners who are appointed by the governor upon recommendation from the legislative delegations representing Spartanburg, Union and Cherokee counties. The commission's responsibilities are to establish policy for governing the college, oversee and guide the president in the administration of the college, and help establish a favorable and supportive environment for the college.
Seven commissioners reside in and represent each of the seven school districts in Spartanburg County, one commissioner represents Cherokee County, one represents Union County and two commissioners are at-large residents of Spartanburg County. In addition, two commissioners serve in an ex-officio capacity: a representative school superintendent from Spartanburg County schools and the chairman of the Spartanburg County Planning Commission.
Mr. Kenny Blackwood joins the commission as an ex-officio member, replacing Dr. Scott Turner who recently retired as superintendent of Spartanburg County School District Five. A long-time educator, Blackwood has served as superintendent of Spartanburg School District Three since July 2015 and has been with the district since 2007. He previously served as principal of Pacolet Elementary School for three years prior to being named supervisory principal for PES and the Middle School of Pacolet as the schools transitioned to a synchronized K-8 instructional model located on two separate campuses. In 2014, Blackwood was named director of the Daniel Morgan Technology Center. In addition, he has served as a principal in both Spartanburg County School Districts Six and Seven, and was director for the Upstate Hub for Educational Support, which provided professional development and training in the areas of English language arts, math and science. A graduate of the University of South Carolina Upstate, Blackwood earned a bachelor's degree in education. He continued his studies at USC earning a graduate degree in education administration.
New officers were recently elected to serve four-year terms. Eugene S. "Sonny" Anderson, Jr., was elected commission chair, representing Spartanburg County School District Two. Anderson serves as vice president of development and systems at QS/1, overseeing all corporate information technology functions and product development for the company. He is a graduate of Boiling Springs High School and earned a Bachelor of Science degree in computer science from the University of South Carolina and a Master of business administration from USC's Moore School of Business. He and his wife Kim have two children. Anderson replaces Mr. Gregory Tate of Cherokee County as chairman.
Mr. Tracy W. Keller was elected commission vice chair, representing Spartanburg County School District Three. Mr. Keller is a graduate of Wofford College and is an active member of Cannons Campground United Methodist Church. He has been an associate with Denny's Corporation since 1991 and is currently senior manager of Denny's real estate portfolio at the Spartanburg corporate office. Keller has held various positions with Denny's, the majority of which have been in the franchise development and real estate areas.
Ms. Tracey G. Hill was elected as commission secretary, representing Spartanburg County School District One. A resident of Inman, she is an automotive textile designer with Sage Automotive Interiors and has over 20 years of experience meeting the innovation needs of customers like Fiat Chrysler Automobiles, Ford and General Motors. Hill received a bachelor's of science degree, cum laude, from the University of South Carolina, and upon graduation started her career in automotive design with Milliken and Company. She is a life-long resident of Spartanburg County and is the granddaughter of Mr. Tracy J. Gaines who was the first chairman of the Spartanburg County Commission for Technical Training, serving from 1961 to 1969. Hill's desire is to serve SCC with the same integrity, passion and dedication as her grandfather. In addition, Hill has served as vice-president of the Inman Woman's Club and is an active member of Inman First Baptist church, where she serves in various ministries. She is married to Larry Hill and has two children, Ansley and Gaines.

The following individuals also serve as members of the Spartanburg County Commission for Technical and Community Education-

-Tracey G. Hill - School District No. 1 - Secretary
-Eugene S. "Sonny" Anderson - School District No. 2 - Chairman
-Tracy W. Keller - School District No. 3 - Vice Chairman
-F. Gary Towery - School District No. 4
-W. Bruce Johnson - School District No. 5
-William G. Sarratt - School District No. 6
-Anthony D. Bell - School District No. 7
-Gregory M. Tate - Cherokee County
-Stanley O. Vanderford - Union County
-James M. Folk - Member at Large
-Kimberly A. Fowler - Member at Large

Ex-Officio Members
-Whit Kennedy -Chairman, Spartanburg County Planning Commission
-Kenny Blackwood - Superintendent, School District No. 3

SC State Board for Technical and Comprehensive Education
-Grantland "Grant" Burns - State Board Member - Fourth Congressional District

Photos are available for download at the following link:

Related Stories

More News